Kombucha Sourdough Starter

I wrote a post in April about making sourdough starter from my harvested kombucha yeast. I said I would post after I made the bread but I didn’t. I have made three batches of bread and two batches of pancakes since I wrote that post in April.  The first bread I made was a rock. The second batch was good, much better but still heavy, the third batch was the charm – as they say. I made up my own recipe for the third batch and it was excellent! The best part is it was enough for two loaves so I made one loaf and froze the other. I did it as an experiment to see if it will freeze and then bake up as good as the first loaf. The pancakes that I wrote about in the post in April were excellent and the second batch was even better, they freeze well.

To make the starter you just drain off sediment that is in bottom of jar and some kombucha – if you have 1 cup liquid use 1 cup flour. Pour mixture into jar and cover with woven cotton cloth, not cheese cloth because weave is too loose – gnats will crawl through loosely woven fabric- use tightly woven cotton fabric. Let set on kitchen counter about 24 hours – depends on temperature of kitchen. It will be bubbling. It is ready for using but will be even better if you use it for your mother and keep adding liquid and flour each day for several days. That way you can take some for recipe and still have the mother. If I’m not going to use it for a few days I put a lid on it tightly and refrigerate jar. When refrigerated you are “supposed to be able to” feed only once a week. I forgot to feed my starter that I had been using and feeding for several months but I forgot and on the 8th day I decided to take it out of refrigerator and let it get going again so I fed it, then waited a few hour – nothing was going on – I fed again and waited – by the next day I realized it was dead so I had to start over again with new kombucha harvested yeast and kombucha.

The pancake recipe:

Kombucha Sourdough Hotcakes

The night before you want to make these pancakes

Mix 1 cup of active sourdough starter (not cold from refrigerator – take out a couple day before you will use it and feed it twice a day so that it is very active,) 2 cups warm spring or filtered water, 2-1/2 cups flour (I used mixture of white and wholewheat flour,) 2 tbsp sugar, stir all together until smooth, cover and leave on counter top over night.  The next morning it should be actively bubbling.

Next morning:

Mix together 2 tbsp ground flax seeds, 6 tbsp warm water, 2 tbsp oil (I use olive oil but you could use any oil you like taste of) 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking soda. Then add to your bubbling starter mixture and stir well and then let this pancake batter sit for about 10 minutes, heat griddle and stir the batter once again, then drop spoonfuls of the batter onto hot griddle at a size you like. Leave about 3 minutes or until golden brown, flip, then let cook about 3 minutes or until golden brown, and remove to a warming pan. This recipe makes about 20 to 25 griddle cakes that are about 4″ to 5″ diameter. These freeze extremely well but be sure they are completely cool before freezing otherwise ice crystals may form.

The bread recipe – 3rd time is the charm recipe

2-1/2 cups active kombucha starter

1 cup filtered/spring water

1 Tbsp active dry yeast

3 Tbsp olive oil

4 cups flour

1 Tbsp kosher coarse salt

In a bowl mix flour and salt set aside. Warm the water to about 95 F and add active dry yeast – set aside. I a bowl add the starter and the water with active dry yeast and olive oil, stir, add flour mixture a little at a time, bring dough together and knead. Place in greased bowl, place in the oven (oven is off and cold) on top shelf, on bottom shelf put a pan of steaming hot water and close the oven door. Let dough rise for about 1 hour, it should be double in size.  The punch down, knead, and place in pan that it will be baked in, let rise until double again. Bake in 350 F oven with the water pan in oven for about 40 minutes, check to be sure of the internal temperature is between 190 F and 210 F

I also found by experimenting that I can let it set out on counter for first rise, it takes longer – it took about 6 hours – I had on counter top in a bowl covered by another bowl large enough that it won’t touch when is raises. Then when it was doubled I knocked down, kneaded, divided into two loaves and froze it. Then when I want to bake a loaf I take it out of freezer, remove from plastic bag, place in greased glass loaf pan, cover with a container large enough to cover without it touching when it doubles. It take about 6 hours to thaw and raise double – maybe longer depending on room temperature – then bake in hot oven until internal temperature is about 210 F.

Leave a Reply

