Spinach Pita Pocket Melt

Guilt free late night munchies.

I wanted something late last night and as I stood peering into my refrigerator I was thinking I shouldn’t eat anything but my eyes kept wandering around the shelves looking at the fresh spinach I had washed and spun dry put in a bag for quick use. Then I saw the last Toufayan pita pocket that I had saved (love them!) and the Tofutti cream cheese, and the bags of Daiya cheese shreds, and then I thought “OH look at the Daiya mozzarella shreds that I haven’t tried yet and everything is plant based, dairy free, OH yes it’s guilt-free”  thus the idea was hatched in my hungry brain to make this spinach pita pocket melt. So I heated the cast iron skillet, without any grease, split the pocket open and spread the Tofutti cream cheese, piled on the spinach, topped with Daiya mozzarella shreds, and sprinkled with Old Bay Seasoning.

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Then placed the top of the pita pocket and placed my Grill Press on top, turned off the burner and let the pita pocket heat for a couple minutes on bottom side,

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

then flipped over and pressed again for a couple minutes on top side, then flip back over and let set without press for a couple more minutes, then cut into four pieces and EAT!

 

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

 

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

Toufayan pita, fresh spinach, Daiya mozzarella, Tofutti cream cheese, Old Bay seasoning, #dairyfree #vegan

 

Leave a Reply

