Sharing My Recipes on My Blog

I been having some fun posting pictures of food that I cook on my Instagram page. I have it set up to auto-post from Instagram to my Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr pages. I started this a few months ago when I wanted to share my food exploration and recipes with others. I enjoy creating new dishes that are plant based – yes that is another way of saying “vegan” but I don’t identify as vegan because I am not a vegan in the strictest sense, more about that another time. I have been positing pictures and stating that I will share recipes on my wordpress blog, so here goes the first one, see below.

This first post will be the lentils dinner I made last night (12-16-16) that was so good I ate more than probably should have but hey… it’s good for me so I didn’t have a guilt attack.

When I cook I don’t measure unless I am making something specific that needs exact measure to replicate. This lentil dish is not one of those and please only use this as a guide for your own cooking. You can substitute veggies with others of your own choice. I use what I have in my refrigerator and pantry.

Ingredients:  measurements are approximate, adjust quantity to your need – I use kosher salt and I salt the veggies as I add the layers to the saute pan. I also use fresh ground pepper in my pepper mill as I saute. I use black iron skillets, enamelware, and stainless steel – I never use aluminum or any coated pans. Do what you want but I think what I use has stood the test of time and are safe cookware, can’t say same for the ones I don’t use.

2 cups chopped leeks (white and green parts,)  1 stalk celery, 1/2 large carrot, 3 bunches small baby bok choy, 5 cremini mushrooms, 1 medium zucchini,  2 large leaves and stems of Swiss Chard.

Chop, cube, or matchstick all veggies, place in skillet (I use black iron skillet) with olive oil to coat bottom of pan, saute on medium to low heat for about 10 minutes, add more olive oil as needed to saute.

Equal amounts each of pumpkin seeds roasted and salted, Sunflower seeds toasted and salted, desiccated coconut, grind in food mill to a course meal.  Sprinkle about 1/8 cup on top of the veggie saute and drizzle more olive oil over top, stir in, cover and turn off heat and let sit until lentils are done.

Cook lentils in separate pot in just enough water to cover. You can be cooking the lentils while prepping veggies and cooking saute. I used about 2 cups brown lentils and 1 cup orange lentils. Cook until tender, add to the veggie saute and stir in, add any seasoning you want, I used Old Bay Seasoning and powdered Turmeric, stir well and heat again just until simmer then remove from heat and let sit about 10 more minutes before serving.

This is good as main meal and would go well with rice or other grains. It would also be a good side dish for those who want more than a plant based entree.

Veggie Saute

Veggie Saute ready for the lentils

Lentils

Lentils cooked ready to add into the veggie saute

Veggie saute with lentils

Veggie saute with lentils – see broth on side where I dipped out small bowl for tasting

Veggie Saute and Lentils

Veggie Saute and Lentils taster bowl – Oops – look at that messy bowl, I should have wiped off rim for presentation in picture – sorry about that!

 

Leave a Reply

