Fermented Tea and Ginger Sodapop

Did you know that Kombucha is fermented tea that uses a starter called a SCOBY, and ginger root fermented in spring water is the starter for ginger sodas. Once fermented both can be flavored with a variety of ingredients. My favorite is to add 100% fruit juice to make ginger sodas. I like to mix ginger starter with the black tea kombucha for a gingerade.

I have kept new batches going continuously since I started up again last month from a few month hiatus. I’m on third round since I started up again in May of the black tea kombucha, but stopped after 2nd of green tea kombucha. I saved enough green tea kombucha to start a new batch. I want to get some bulk green tea leaves at my local food cooperative where I’m a member, that’s Ever’mans in Pensacola, Florida.

There are many health benefits to be had from the probiotics that kombucha and ginger starter sodas generate. That is a lengthy subject and although I’ve posted information before, I won’t repeat in this post today.

If you want more information on my efforts and experience, search my blog for the other posts on this subject,  and as always, feel free to leave a comment or ask a question.

Below are a couple pictures from yesterday.

Kombucha-n-GingerSoda

Kombucha-n-GingerSoda

 

This is Kombucha I bottled up in some recycled bottles.

This is Kombucha I bottled up in some recycled bottles.

Leave a Reply

