Weaving and Knitting Accessories

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

I have three newly acquired tools to add to my knitting and weaving tool collection thanks to a weaving guild friend Betsy Clark! I am so thankful and thrilled with all three of them. Betsy said they were from an auction where they were part of a batch of items that were purchased as a bundle. The ones that I acquired are an electric bobbin winder, a swift, and a vintage Simet yarn-cake winder.

Bobbin Winder

Electric Bobbin Winder, appears to be homemade using a TACSEW sewing machine motor and a foot pedal that is variable speed (sort of… )

Swift

This is a Swift, I had to do some research to figure out what it is and how to use it – I’m embarrassed to admit that I thought it was some sort of warping mill until I found a YouTube video that shows how to used it with a hank of yarn.

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder – what a beautiful yarn cake I made in a matter of minutes! I love love love it! Thank you Betsy for this and for the other items too! That yarn-cake is 6″ diameter and 3-1/2″ tall!

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder – here it is rewired, cleaned, oiled, and ready for housing to be put back on. See pictures below of the items and how I cleaned and oiled them. The Simet winder didn’t have an electric cord to plug it into the electric outlet, so I got out my tools and opened the housing case, then I rewired the electric wires to make it a direct hookup to the motor. I took pictures of the process, see all below.

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder – I cut wires and direct wired to an old extension cord that I sacrificed to make the direct connect electric cord.

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

Vintage Simet yarn-cake winder

3 thoughts on “Weaving and Knitting Accessories

    • I love gadgets too but looks like you have me beat, hands down. I really like the bobbin threader, a great tool to have.

      • I am still beside myself with joy over the GREAT deal Betsy gave me! I had posted a wanted ad in our weaving forum and other places saying that I was looking for a bobbin winder – used – and cheap. Betsy definitely gave me a steal of a deal! I been using a hand crank type that I borrow from a friend, Mary H., but she is moving to south Florida soon.

Leave a Reply

