Rag Rug on Circa 1900 4-Shaft Counterbalance Floor Loom

I completed my first weaving project on my Circa 1900 4-Shaft Counterbalance Floor Loom. I learned much from this project. I realize that the width of strips make the finished rug thin. It is actually more suited to a table runner or placemat. I do love it though because it is my first rug on my floor loom!

This rag rug, finished measurement after washing is 25″ wide by 33″ long, is made from two yards of two colors of 100% cotton material. I tore each color into 1/2″ wide strips to make the yarn for the weft.

I found that the raceway was about 1-1/2″ lower than the bottom warp threads when shed was open so I made a raised raceway that is temporary and doesn’t jeopardize the integrity of the vintage loom. I cut the wood and sanded it, then wedged it in with some cardboard on each end to hold it securely and to protect the historical loom wood.

 

See also my page weaving and see all the links to previous blog posts. https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/weaving/

Also check out my ravelry page: http://www.ravelry.com/people/maggiescorner

Leave a Reply

