Loom Weave Beading Revisited for 2015 Christmas Gift

Over the 2015 October through December hectic handcrafting period when I was knitting and sewing Christmas gifts to finish and mail so that they would arrive on time, I revisited beading on a loom. I wanted to make my granddaughter, Rabeka, a beaded bracelet with her name on it. I also bought a small beading loom for her as a Christmas gift because I thought once she saw the bracelet that she would also want to weave beads. I will say more about that in another post.

Jpeg

The bracelet I made for Rabeka with glass beads on a beading loom.

I use to bead on a beading loom over 30 years ago; believe it or not I still have bead stash from long ago that I purchased when I was in Taos New Mexico while on a skiing trip. I bought many beading supplies and beads at the shops in Taos, beads made from real turquoise, gold fill, stone, bone, porcupine quills, and glass.

Jpeg

My beads from Taos New Mexico.

I must admit that I didn’t use any of them when I made Rabeka’s bracelet but I enjoyed the nostalgic journey looking back and I will start making items with those beads this year as I expand Maggie’s Corner scope of work. I decided to buy glass beads that were colored with a metallic finish because I thought the colors were more to her taste, purple is her favorite color.

Jpeg

The glass beads I made Rabeka’s bracelet from.

 

Leave a Reply

