Doily Rug Knitting Project

I want to share my knitting project and do a review on the knitting pattern. I came by the pattern thanks to an online knitting group I am in, a member shared a picture of her own project and the link for the pattern. See the link for the pattern at the end of this blog post.

The pattern is called Rag Doily Rug. It calls for US 19 knitting needles. I prefer wooden double pointed needles. I started out looking locally for that size and type of knitting needles, but after no luck I decided to get them online. I estimated the needles for this project should be about 2′ long, and since I couldn’t find any that size online I decided to make them myself!

Here are some pictures of how I made the knitting needles.

Making the knitting needles with my belt sander and a dowel rod. I cut a 4′ dowel rod in half, then I used my belt sander to sand dowel rod to points on each end as well as light sanding over the entire rod. Then I sanded by hand with finer grit and finished off with a bees wax mixture.

 

 

Knitting Needles that I made. The pattern calls for US 19, that is 15mm knitting needles. I had a 1/2 inch diameter dowel rod in my garage, so after the sanding down process these knitting needles would be approximately 12mm instead. If I make another set, I may buy a 5/8″ dowel rod so that would turn out about 15mm once I sand it down to make the knitting needles.

 

 

 

 

 

The knitting needles that I made and the t-shirt yarn I ordered from GANXXET FABRIC YARN – see link to shop at the end of this article –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below are some pictures of the progress of the knitting project, and my furry friends, Zoie and Terra.

I practiced the pattern on a smaller scale before making the actual rug. I have never knit much more than simple little projects and that was many years ago so it took some refreshing of the memory to figure out what I was doing.

 

 

 

 

 

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting the project

knitting project progressing with Terra inspecting

knitting project progressing

knitting project progressing with Terra inspecting

knitting project progressing with Zoie inspecting

knitting project progressing with Zoie inspecting

knitting project progressing with Zoie inspecting

knitting project progressing with Terra inspecting

knitting project progressing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The completed Doily Rug. As you can see in the picture, my knitting improved from beginning to end as I got a better grasp of the pattern. This pattern consists of 20 rows that form a wedge shape piece. The 20 rows are repeated 6 times to make the semi circle shape that is constituted by 6 wedge sections, there are two points on each wedge shape for each section. It was a good pattern to help me learn how slip stitches, yarn overs, turn without working, and other such knitting techniques form shape and design.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RagDoilyRug

Click on the picture or the link below to open the pattern in PDF format. I am not very experienced at knitting so I had to spend a lot of time refreshing my memory of basic knitting technique for this pattern. I had no idea where it began or ended just by looking at the pattern but after knitting the small test piece, then pulling it out several times to start over, I eventually understood how to knit this pattern. This knitting pattern is probably easy enough for experienced knitter but for me it was challenging. I am anxious to make another rug from this pattern using rag yarn, that I will prepare myself from an old sheet, to see the difference in the outcome.

The pattern that I used is on CoCo Knits, here is the link Rag Doily Rug 

The GANXXET FABRIC YARN SHOP ON ETSY

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Doily Rug Knitting Project

  1. Maggie your rug is AMAZING! and I’m so impress that you did your own knitting needles!! Congratulations!
    Thank you for mention the yarn in your post.

    Nuria

Leave a Reply

