August Sauerkraut

The sauerkraut I made in August is almost gone. I still have a little bit of the kraut I made in May but it is mixed in with the daikon and carrot ferment I made in May. I like the kraut that I made in August better than the one I made in May. This time I didn’t include the red pepper flakes, and I added dried dill weed to the seasoning, but other than that it was about the same recipe except I didn’t use an airlock this time – just a cover with saran around top of jar to be sure no pest get in because the wood cover wasn’t tight fit. I keep on counter for three days and then refrigerate, and you can eat it that day. It takes three days for the lacto-bacillus to get a good start to begin the ferment and make probiotics. In the refrigerator it will continue to ferment at a much slower rate. I have a separate refrigerator for my fermented foods and drinks, I keep the temperature a bit higher than the regular refrigerator. Some recipes tell you to keep it out on counter for weeks and even months, I haven’t tried that yet and not sure I ever will. I simulate the old way when they used to put in the cellar that was about 50 degrees by keeping in my ferment refrigerator. I feel it is safer in refrigerator. I have pH test strips and I check for the  pH  of all of my fermented drinks and foods. I use a reference table to verify that the food or drink is at the correct pH so I know it is safe. Remember don’t use table salt – use kosher salt – and don’t cover with cheese cloth because the weave is too big and will let gnats get in. Use a solid weave such as cotton dishcloth or broadcloth. Also cleanliness is critical, I wash jars and implements in hot soapy water, rinse well and then sanitize with pure white vinegar. The vinegar needs to make contact for about 1 minute and shake off excess. Vinegar kills all bacteria – good and bad – the good bacteria, lactobacillus make the healthy ferment and they thrive in the salty acid environment that is low pH below 4.6, whereas bad bacteria can’t live in high acid low pH.  Be sure to check out my cited reference sources in the other articles I wrote – see links below.

August Sauerkraut

August Sauerkraut is almost gone! To the right side behind the kraut is preserved lemons and limes that I am making and to the left behind kraut is the current ginger starter making in jar. These jars in the picture are half-gallon wide mouth jars.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you missed the May article I wrote – read it here – May Sauerkraut – be sure to click on the reference links for the research I cited.

Here is the book review I did on the Fermentation for Beginners 

Below are more pictures of making August Sauerkraut.

SauerkrautPoundingAug2015

Picture of pounding cabbage and kosher salt with wooden pin releases the natural juice in cabbage, pound well doing a small amount at a time while cutting the cabbage, add a bit more sprinkle kosher salt – pound, repeat.

poundAugCabbage

Picture of pounding cabbage and kosher salt with wooden pin releases the natural juice in cabbage, pound well doing a small amount at a time while cutting the cabbage, add a bit more sprinkle kosher salt – pound, repeat.

AugCabbageFerment

After the cabbage is pounded with kosher salt and seasonings are added and mixed well with wooden pin, the cabbages has released the natural juice in cabbage. I covered with a few whole leaves and push down well so that the cut cabbage is all under the cabbage juice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below I heated the smoked sausage but not the kraut because when you heat it you kill the probiotics in the ferment; I eat it cold from the refrigerator and it compliments the heated smoked sausage that I heated in a brown ale. It still tastes amazing if you heat it and I’m sure there are still many health benefits even if you do heat it so if you can’t enjoy it cold then by all means – do your own thing.

August Sauerkraut cold from refrigerator served with Kelly's Hardwood Smoked Sausage simmered in Newcastle Brown Ale.

August Sauerkraut cold from refrigerator served with Kelly’s Hardwood Smoked Sausage simmered in Newcastle Brown Ale.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sanitizing research reference

http://www.ext.colostate.edu/pubs/foodnut/kitchen-sanitize.pdf

Other research references:

Ahoy, Pass the Cabbage – History Channel 

Captain James Cook and Preventative Health

Probiotics and their fermented food products are beneficial for health – NCBI

Fermented Fruits and Vegetables, A Global Perspective

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

