Kombucha Project Progresses

If you have been following my posts then you know I started this Kombucha project in March. I have learned much about making Kombucha, and my research goes on. I am learning from the many others who are making Kombucha at home and sharing their experience on YouTube and in blogs. Kombucha is touted as the miracle tea by many and is credited for numerous medical benefits that are not conclusive yet according to Scientific research, but it is well known scientific fact that Kombucha is a probiotic that aids digestion.  One tidbit of historical value that I learned recently is that Kombucha originated about 220 BC somewhere around China. I also learned that research shows that Kombucha is antimicrobial and effective against many bad bugs such as salmonella and e.coli, see article at U.S. National Library of Medicine

Here in Florida down around Orlando we have two small Kombucha Breweries that have sprung up the last few years, Fat Boy Produce and Living VitaliTea. I read about them in the news story Kombucha craze: A miracle tea?

I have written five other articles on my Kombucha project progression here on my own blog. I have included the links to those articles at the end of this article for those who haven’t read the article or want to read it again.  You will notice by the pictures below and the pictures in the other articles I have come a long way graduating up to 2 gallon vessels with spout at bottom.

Yesterday batch 2 had been fermenting for 30 days. I learned that many of the probiotics which give the health benefits don’t begin to form until 14 days and more probiotics don’t form until after 23 days.  I started it on May 4 and yesterday was June 4. After I checked batch 2 Kombucha for pH, it was about 3, then I transferred batch 2 into another container for the flavoring process, and the second ferment. The flavoring I used is fresh ginger. I grated a huge ginger root, simmered it for about 30 minutes, turned off the heat and added 1 cup of sugar, stirred and let steep about an hour, then let cool in pan of ice water to about 90 F. Then strained it and added it to the batch 2 Kombucha. After stirring and letting set for about 30 minutes, I bottled in fliptops. I will let them sit on counter with towel over them for about 3 days then refrigerate.

I had reserved some of the batch 2 Kombucha for batch 3 Kombucha. The original Mother SCOBY from batch 1 had doubled in thickness and made a new SCOBY. I placed the new SCOBY in the vessel for batch 3. I place the Mama SCOBY in a new SCOBY hotel ( I recently learned not good to put SCOBY in refrigerator so it will be on the counter in kitchen) that I also added some of the batch 2 Kombucha in for her to live in until I need her for another batch. All the pictures below will show this process.

Batch2_2ndfermentFlavoring-2

Batch 2 Kombucha second ferment flavoring process

Batch22ndfermentFlavoring

Batch 2 Kombucha second ferment flavoring process

Batch2-flavored2ndFerment

Batch 2 Kombucha second ferment flavoring process ready to bottle.

Batch2goingto2ndFerment

Batch 2 Kombucha going into new vessel for second ferment flavoring process before bottling. See on the left bottom of picture the strained ginger syrup cooling in pan with ice (the ice is water frozen in water bottles) waiting to be added to the second ferment vessel to flavor Kombucha.

Batch2goingto2ndFermentoverview

Batch 2 Kombucha going into new vessel for second ferment flavoring process before bottling.

NewSCOBYfromBatch2

New SCOBY that formed in Batch 2. The SCOBY is sitting in white vinegar bath where I cleaned her and got her ready to go into Batch 3 and the starter.

SCOBY-Hotel

SCOBY Hotel. The mother SCOBY in the SCOBY hotel is hanging out until needed for new batch of Kombucha. She doubled in thickness during the ferment in Batch 2 as well has making the new big SCOBY.

SCOBYHotel-n-Batch3started

SCOBY Hotel on left and Batch 3 starter on right. See the new big SCOBY in the reserved batch 2 kombucha to start the Batch 3 Kombucha.

SCOBYHotel-n-Batch3started-2

SCOBY Hotel on left and Batch 3 starter on right. See the new big SCOBY in the reserved batch 2 kombucha to start the Batch 3 Kombucha.

SCOBYHotelStartedJune4

SCOBY Hotel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The sugar in the ginger syrup will be eaten by the yeast and good bacteria in the kombucha making CO2 that will be trapped in the bottles and that will make the ginger flavored kombucha fizzy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Links to other articles:

https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/03/25/kombucha-scoby/

https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/04/10/scoby-is-born/

https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/04/16/scoby-ready-to-make-kombucha/

https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/04/28/kombucha-my-1st-batch-with-my-own-scoby/

https://maggiescornerdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/05/06/bottled-kombucha-batch-1-and-started-buch-batch-2/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

