Beautiful Material in Disguise…

Recycling used materials takes a lot of effort but I get a satisfaction from knowing that feed bags, and coffee bags are really beautiful material in disguise! I upcycle the bags and transform the material into something useful and beautiful.  The shopping totes and other items I make from the recycled materials will be enjoyed by someone for many years to come!

It starts when I get the bags, sometimes people drop off the bags at my house, other times I pickup the bags at varied locations. Then I store the bags in the garage; which involves pest control measures that I won’t go into here. Then when I’m ready to process the bags into material, I bring the selected bags to the back deck where I have a table and other equipment to layout the bags, cut off ends, cut side of bags, and then wash the bags and hang on the line.

Here is the washing station (see picture below)

IMG_20140727_185019

 

Below picture shows the washing station and bags hanging on the line, ( the metal frame – center – is for sun canopy that I will reinstall soon – I washed it in the washing machine – and just haven’t put it back up yet this summer )

IMG_20140727_185003

washing station on right, and bags on line to dry on left (frame for sun canopy is bare but I will reinstall the canopy soon – I washed it in the washing machine – and just haven’t put it back up yet this summer )

IMG_20140727_184731

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

 

 

IMG_20140727_184746

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

IMG_20140727_184758

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

IMG_20140727_184910

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

IMG_20140727_184835

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

IMG_20140727_184919

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

IMG_20140727_184951

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

 

 

IMG_20140727_184957

View from yard of back deck with bags drying on the line.

The next step after bags are dry is to fold and put in the studio to be used to make custom totes for my customers. I’ll do another article showing layout and cutting table scenes as well well the sewing to make a tote – soon!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

