The Project that was a Disaster… Yet a Phenomenal Success – How can that be?

It has been one year now since I embarked on my weaving journey. Despite attaining a basic skills level and familiarity of terminology, I barely have a toehold in the weaving knowledge mountain; yet my enthusiasm has not waned.

I started trying to learn to weave in February of 2013. First I built a frame and placed nails on either end for the warp threads. It was my intention to weave a rag rug similar to some I have that are family heirlooms. It has been an interesting journey. I have learned lots and realize I have mountains more to learn! I have found many wonderful websites and people along the way. My own learning experience doing this frame loom with nails that I made up from a mixture of reading about weaving and watching YouTube videos, turned out to be a disaster… yet a phenomenal success! How can that be? Well… let me tell you! It was a disaster because it didn’t turn out anything like I thought it would! The successful part comes in because I learned so much from the disaster! So I decided to make a purse out of the woven piece, and weave a strap to match.

If you aren’t familiar with Ravelry, check it out! I have been a member since 2011. My page is http://www.ravelry.com/people/maggiescorner and after you join, add me as a friend so we can share our projects and common interests!

Here is a picture of the woven piece that ensued from my disastrous, yet successful “Loom Experiment”

The Woven Rag Bag that ensued from my disastrous, yet successful "Loom Experiment"

The Woven Rag Bag that ensued from my disastrous, yet successful “Loom Experiment”

See more at http://www.ravelry.com/projects/maggiescorner/loom-experiment

Also see the photogallery album with over 145 pictures of the “Loom Experiment” on my FB page 

Leave a Reply

