My Weekend Plans

This morning I had my plans, and as I do every morning, I was logged in to my Etsy Store convoing with customers, tweaking listings, and promoting on social media, but then all my plans went up the pipe, literally, when I heard noises of fluttering inside that stove pipe that I had not finished taking down from the old wood burning heater, that I took down recently, and that is still sitting on the front porch!

CIMG1928

the wood burning stove still sitting on front porch on the cart

I was gripped by anxiety thinking that a bird was trapped in the pipe and chastising myself for not having the forethought to cover the pipe cap on the roof!

CIMG1925

I had the bag on bottom of pipe so nothing could come in through the pipe but I should of put a cover over the pipe cap on roof! It would of helped with heat/cooling house too.

The first thing I did was to put Zoie and Terra in the other room and contain them with the safety gate at the door so that they could still see me and not feel punished. I thought if the bird, or whatever else might be scratching around inside the pipe; I thought maybe it was a baby squirrel!

CIMG1956

Zoie and Terra contained behind the safety gate in the other room.

I didn’t want the girls chasing around after whatever critter it was in that pipe in case it escaped into the house, so once they were safely gated in the other room, they could still observe me and they watched carefully making sure I was doing it right!

CIMG1927

I got the pipe loose and covered the end with cloth until I could cover the top pipe so nothing else would drop down the chimney while I was carrying the freed one outside.

After much PB Blaster sprayed on screws and beating with hammer I loosened screws from the pipe inside the house and had a cloth ready to cover the open end of the bottom section of pipe when it came loose. I was feeling sorry for the critter in the pipe enduring that beating racket I had made loosening the rusted screws, and I wondered if I damaged it’s hearing.

CIMG1934

The birds are free and the pipe is out of my house, finally!

Then I took the freed pipe outside, and as I removed the cover two birds blasted out flying; one bird looked back at me and the expression was priceless! I wish I could of had a picture of that!

CIMG1933

Now this pipe needed to be pulled up through the top of roof.

The ditty bag I tossed together with items I need on roof to close up the boot after I pull out the pipe. This is one of my feedbag totes, it's handy for many uses, and easy to sling over shoulder when climbing a ladder.

The ditty bag I tossed together with items I need on roof to close up the boot after I pull out the pipe. This is one of my feedbag totes, it’s handy for many uses, and easy to sling over shoulder when climbing a ladder.

I then fixed a ditty bag with items I would need on the roof and I climbed up there to remove the top part of the pipe and close off the roof boot as best I could for now.

CIMG1938

my ladder is secure and makes it safe and easy for me

CIMG1939

This is the scene from top of ladder looking across to top of roof where the pipe is sticking up. I’m glad I had the forethought years ago to build the access area at back of porch roof, and thankful my house roof is on 5/12 pitch, back porch is nearly flat.

CIMG1941

pipe soon to be gone

pipe is out of the boot

pipe is out of the boot and I could hear Zoie and Terra barking down inside the house

The pipe is out and boot is ready to close off.

The pipe is out and boot is ready to close off.

 

I'm sitting on my backside  as you can see my feet at the boot plate in the picture, I was relaxing glad I had it covered and wrapped up tight. I used scrap piece of grain bag for inner lining, silver coffee bag for outer layer, and of course duck brand fabric reinforced plasticized tape... AKA duct tape.

I’m sitting on my backside as you can see my feet at the boot plate in the picture, I was relaxing glad I had it covered and wrapped up tight. I used scrap piece of grain bag for inner lining, silver coffee bag for outer layer, and of course duck brand fabric reinforced plasticized tape… AKA duct tape, to secure it to the roof boot.

I need to do a roof repair and remove the boot, patch the wood, waterproof membrane and roofing, but this will suffice for now.

all secure and ready to take the pipe down to the back deck

all secure and ready to take the pipe down to the back deck

 

 

pipe is down on back deck and me too

pipe is down on back deck and me too

inside the house looking good, and one of these days I will insulate that area an patch the ceiling but that is a project for another day

inside the house looking good, and one of these days I will insulate that area and patch the ceiling but that is a project for another day..

Zoie and Terra came to inspect my handiwork and approved it but they thought I should go inside and rest, so did I...

Zoie and Terra came to inspect my handiwork and approved it but they thought I should go inside and rest, so did I…

My knee and hip is a misery, my ankles are swollen, but what a great feeling to have saved those birds and get that pipe out of my house!

I put my feet up to let the swelling in ankles go down and to take the pressure off my knee and hip, but now I will get back to my weekend plans of bag washing outside in the glorious Florida weather!

Have a GREAT weekend Everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

