Wash your reusable totes often to avoid cross-contamination caused illness

To see the video of Dr Rehm, or the news story, click on pictures below.

When I design and make a reusable shopping tote for a customer I always have in mind that it should be washable in the regular wash cycle of any washing machine. The totes that I make, can be tossed in with a load of towels. I turn my totes wrong side out when I put them in the washing machine, and then line dry, don’t put in a dryer. In between machine washings, I use a soapy sponge and wipe dry with a towel.

Reusable shopping bags can harbor bacteria. I couldn’t believe what I heard on the video that 97% of shoppers admitted they had never washed their reusable bags!

“Reusable grocery bags can become contaminated if you’re not careful. Susan Rehm, MD, treats infectious diseases at Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Rehm says meats are a common contamination culprit and she gives consumers tips to avoid illness from contaminated grocery bags.”

Image

See this video, click on picture or go to http://scopeblog.stanford.edu/2012/07/27/video-reusable-grocery-bags-can-harbor-bacteria/

WashYourReusableTotes2Click on picture above or go to this link http://casesblog.blogspot.com/2012/07/warning-your-reusable-grocery-bags-can.html

 

Leave a Reply

